Applelinguist … the apple that started it all

linguistics information for everyone

Day 4

leave a comment »

Day 4 – Thursday, August 12, 2010

Orientation Day. Today was my official start of my PhD program. I got up early. I could hardly sleep and even though I was ready to “go to school” on time as my Dad told me “to have a good day at school,” I felt myself getting nervous. When I jumped on my bike at 8:02 for the 9am orientation, I pedaled with a sense of premonition. This is a route I would get to know well. When I arrived on campus it was 8:06. I was early. Another girl, Renee, and I entered an empty room.

The first conversation I had that morning made me nervous. Then I was fine. But as others filed in, I could see that many were more nervous than I was. I didn’t have preconceived notions of what orientation was supposed to look like, but I found it smooth. Everything was explained professionally and with a sense of self-depreciating humor. We broke into a smaller group and then a smaller group still. I liked the people in my group and even found one of them more attractive than the others.

At 1pm, I jumped on my bike for the 5-minute sauna jaunt back to my casita (like a cottage). I was wiped out. My Dad and I went to Chili’s again for lunch. Then I came home and took a nap. I could barely wake up.

Note about my Dad: My Dad traveled from Texas to Tucson to help me unpack. We hung out as friends. I’ve never considered him a friend, but it dawned on me that he is actually one of my best friends despite our personality differences. He stayed an extra day to wait for the gas to be turned on and to wait for a replacement cell phone to arrive. He took off at 3am the next day.

Written by applelinguist

August 13, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

