Applelinguist … the apple that started it all

linguistics information for everyone

Day 5

leave a comment »

The long nap the day before caused by 100 + Tucson heat and a five-minute bike ride in the middle of that heat had made sleeping nearly impossible. My Dad also couldn’t sleep and he wanted to leave at 3am. At 2:55 he put his hand on my chest to wake me up. At 3am, I was waving good-bye to him as he had to me and his father had to him so many times.

I went back to bed and missed my 5:30 alarm. My plan to go for a bike ride would have to wait. Still, I got on my bike at 8:03. My door-to-door travel time was 6:23. Renee was there again. We are the early birds.

Most of the students returned to the spots they had found the day before. I got to chat with a few others; Tom from Long Beach and Jose from New Mexico. Another smooth day of orientations were under way.

At the end of the day we got to see our ‘offices.’ They are actually pod spaces that we share with a few others. I’m going to share with Brianna. I’ll meet students at E2.

With a new fisherman’s hat I purchased at Arizona Hats, I got on my bike with the back of my next protected and hydrated furiously as I pedaled in 105 heat.

Written by applelinguist

August 13, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

